Sunday, 05 December 2021
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Big 7 All-League Football Teams Announced: Holton Leads With 12 First Team Selections
By Brandon Tadtman

The Holton Wildcats are one win away from the Class 3A State Championship game. The Wildcats won the Big 7 League for the first time since 2014 and they led the way in Big 7 All-League selections that were released on Monday.

Matt Lierz (Holton) was named First Team All-League at quarterback. Honorable mention selections include Zac Kramer (Nemaha Central), Gunnar Ball (Perry Lecompton), and Kobe Davis (Riverside).

The duo running back combination of Jace Boswell and Jayden Fletcher, both of Holton, earned First Team All-League along with Sabetha’s Josh Herrmann. Honorable mention selections at running back include Reichen Rush (Perry Lecompton), Garyson Booth (Holton), Sam McWilliams (Nemaha Central), Cooper Hajek (Nemaha Central), and Levi Parrett (Royal Valley).

First Team selections at wide receiver included Kael Gorski of Perry Lecompton and Marcus Bauman of Sabetha. Honorable mention selections were Austin Anderson (Jeff West), Ty Williams (Perry Lecompton), and Carson Gilbert (Hiawatha).

Holton’s Charlie Gilliland earned First Team honors at tight end while Blake Stallbaumer of Nemaha Central and Tristan Wittwer of Sabetha earned honorable mention selections.

Six players were selected to the First Team offensive line led by a pair of Wildcats as Holton’s Andrew Williams and Kaden Cattrell were named to the list. Other first team selections were Thadd Menold (Sabetha), Peter Campbell (Hiawatha), Wesley Monaghan (Perry Lecompton), and Holden Bass (Nemaha Central).

Honorable mention selections on the offensive line included William Kralicek (Royal Valley), Dalton Rousch (Holton), Connor Deters (Nemaha Central), Kaleb Reitz (Nemaha Central), and Josh Grimm of Sabetha.

Holton’s Jake Zeller earned First Team honors at punter while Sabetha’s Chase Frey was named honorable mention.

First team on the defensive line included Hiawatha’s Braydon Griswold, Holton’s Kaden Cattrell, Holden Bass of Nemaha Central, Wesley Monaghan of Perry Lecompton, and Sabetha’s Kaden Edelman. Honorable mention selections were Ashton Wood (Royal Valley), Brayton Leochner (Perry Lecompton), Garrett Casto (Jeff West), and Dalton Rousch (Holton).

Holton’s Connor Collins and Sabetha’s Christian McAfee earned First Team honors at defensive end and outside linebacker while Jayden Fletcher (Holton), Wade Leonard (Nemaha Central), and Andrew Henry (Nemaha Central) earned honorable mention honors.

Inside linebackers were led by Holton’s Jace Boswell and Sabetha’s Thadd Menold earning First Team honors while Garyson Booth (Holton), Sam Brunton (Jeff West), Cooper Hajek (Nemaha Central), Blake Stallbaumer (Nemaha Central), and Todrick Duncan (Riverside).

There was a total of seven players selected to the First Team at the defensive back position. Ashton Rockey of Hiawatha, Holton’s Matt Lierz, Kaden Stones of Jefferson West, Gunnar Ball of Perry Lecompton, Kobe Davis of Riverside, Matt Whittaker of Sabetha, and Treyson Murata of Royal Valley all were named to the first team.

Honorable mention defensive back selections included Jonathan Renyer (Sabetha), Brayden Uphaus (Nemaha Central), and Jake Zeller (Holton).

Holton’s Matt Lierz earned the First Team nod at kicker while Pepign Dengemasine of Sabetha and Xavier Oldham of Hiawatha earned honorable mention honors at kicker.

©2021 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group