Friday, 29 May 2020
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Nemaha Central Girls, Perry Lecompton Boys Capture Big 7 League Track Crowns
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

2019 Big 7 League Meet – Results

It was yet another competitive year throughout the Big 7 League on the track in 2019 and Thursday evening it was once again the Nemaha Central girls and Perry Lecompton boys claiming league titles for the second consecutive season.

The Thunder girls captured their fourth league title in the past five seasons behind seven gold medal winners, led by Jacy Dalinghaus and Alleigh Kramer who each won three events. Dalinghaus swept the shot put, discus and javelin league titles, while Kramer did the same in the 100 and 200-meter dashes along with the long jump. The final Thunder win came in a relay event, as the team of Kramer, Hannah Macke, Heather Suther and Rachel Gudenkauf captured the 4 by 100-meter relay crown.

Holton finished second on the girl’s side despite just one first place finish, as Cailin Parks took the league crown in the 400-meter dash.

Sabetha added three more golds with the only individual gold coming from Hattie Lukert in the 800-meter run, while the Bluejays added two relay event wins claiming the 4 by 400 and 800-meter relays.

Royal Valley finished in a tie with Sabetha for third place and had two more wins, as Kenzie Ogden won the 300-meter hurdles while Kenzie Hegemann took the pole vault league crown.

Three more wins came from Hiawatha all on the track, as Kate Madsen won the 1600-meter run, Jasmine Morey the 3200-meter run and Claire Geiger the 100-meter hurdles.

The final girl’s winners came from Perry Lecompton with Haley Kellum capturing the triple jump and Talisa Stone the high jump.

On the boy’s side it was once again Perry Lecompton claiming the top spot as the Kaws finished with eight gold medal winners. The Kaws were led by Shane Quinlan who captured the 200 and 400-meter dashes, while Perry also swept the relay events as well. The Kaws finished the day with a win by Spencer Funk in the javelin, Caden Dean in the long jump and Colton Mallonee in the triple jump.

Sabetha finished second as a team with three more wins, led by Mason Engelken who captured both the 110 and 300-meter hurdles while Elliott Strahm won the shot put league crown.

The third spot in the league standings went to Nemaha Central who had just one winner, as Dylan Schultejans captured the pole vault league crown.

Royal Valley, Holton and Jeff West also each added one event winner, as the Panthers had Kain Fink win the high jump, the Wildcats Ian Watkins the 100-meter dash and the Tigers Bryce Clements the 800-meter run.

The meet was rounded out by Hiawatha who added three league champs, as Justin Hodge won the 1600 and 3200-meter runs while Broderick Jones captured the discus crown.

©2020 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group