Monday, 26 August 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Jeff County North Girls and Boys Track Teams Win Fifth Straight Northeast Kansas League Titles
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

2019 NEKL Meet Results – Girls & Boys

For the past four seasons the Jefferson County North track and field teams have dominated the Northeast Kansas League, and Thursday evening the Chargers continued their dominance as the girls’ and boys’ teams claimed the NEKL title for the fifth straight year.

The Charger girls won the league crown for the tenth straight season behind six gold medal winners led by Kassidy Robertson who captured both the 100 and 200-meter dashes. JCN also won four field events, with Josie Weishaar winning the high jump, Karisa Schmalz the pole vault, Emma Tweed the shot put and Kinsey Schneider the triple jump.

The most first place finishes Thursday night came from Jackson Heights, who was led by Faith Little winning two events as she captured the 800 and 1600-meter runs. The Cobras added two more individual winners with Grace Roles winning the discus and Sarah Marshall the long jump, while Jackson Heights rounded out the day sweeping the relay events.

Pleasant Ridge was the only other girls’ team with multiple first place finishes, as Emma Schwinn won the 100 and 300-meter hurdles while Kaija Nutsch won the javelin throw.

The girl’s side was rounded out by McLouth and Oskaloosa who each had one winner, as the Lady Dawgs had Reagan Clark win the 3200-meter run while the Bears had Lexi Adams capture the 400-meter dash.

On the boy’s side Jeff County North won the NEKL title behind three first place finishers, as Kyle Budy won the 200-meter dash, Trevor Pentlin the 3200-meter run and the 4 by 800-meter relay team also taking gold.

The most first place finishes came from Jackson Heights and Maur Hill-Mount Academy who had five gold medal winners. The Cobras finished in second place as a team and were led by Daniel Little who won the 800 and 1600-meter runs. Jackson Heights also added three field event winners, as Carson Williams won the discus, Taylor Wamego the shot put and Levi Olberding the triple jump.

The Ravens had four of five event winners come on the track, as Taylor Folsom captured the 100-meter dash, Joseph Hernandez the 300-meter hurdles and Conner Wilson the 400-meter dash. MH-MA also added a win by the 4 by 100-meter relay team while James Stiechen took gold in the pole vault.

Pleasant Ridge was the only other school with multiple first place finishers, as the Rams were led by Keaton Comer who won both the high jump and javelin.

The meet was rounded out by McLouth, Horton and ACCHS who each had one winner, as the Bulldogs had the 4 by 400-meter relay team take gold, the Chargers Gunnar Madere in the long jump and the Tigers Trystin Myers in the 110-meter hurdles.

©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group