Tuesday, 25 June 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Nine Players, One Coach Earn All-State Football Honors from KFBCA
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

The Kansas Football Coaches Association has announced its all-state football teams for 2018 and several area athletes picked up honors with the 3A State Champion Sabetha Bluejays leading the way.

The Bluejays finished with five players on the first team, with Joe Gruber picking up honors at running back while Braeden Cox was named to the all-state team at kicker and defensive back. Sabetha also had Elliott Strahm make it onto the all-state team as a defensive lineman, while Cauy Rokey earned a spot at linebacker.

Sabetha also had the 3A Coach of the Year as well, as head man Garret Michael won the honor after leading the Bluejays to a perfect 13-0 record and a second straight state title.

Two area guys earned spots onto the 2A all-state team with both coming on the defensive side of the ball. Nemaha Central’s Matt Baumgartner was named to the all-state team on the defensive line, while Pleasant Ridge’s Hunter Wagner earned the same honors at linebacker.

The final all-state selections come in Class 1A and all from Troy, as Marcus Martinez earned all-state honors on the offensive line, Reid Jasper at receiver and Jacob Mott at linebacker.

©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group