Sunday, 21 April 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
2018 All-State Football Selections Announced
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

The 2018 high school football season came to a close a little over a week ago and with that all-state selections have been released with several area athletes earning first team honors. 

In Class 3A five area athletes and one coach picked up all-state honors, with Sabetha Head Coach Garrett Micheal named the coach of the year after leading the Bluejays to a second straight state title. Sabetha also had Elliott Strahm on the first team defensive line, Cauy Rokey at linebacker and Braedan Cox at kicker. Also in 3A Jeff West had Kauli Saili on the defensive line, while Perry Lecompton’s Dalton Kellum was named to the all-state team as a utility man. 

Just two area athletes in Class 2A earned all-state honors, with Nemaha Centrals Matt Baumgartner and Maur Hill-Mount Academy’s Tate Vowel each being selected at receiver. 

Class 1A had six more area athletes earn all-state selections, as Centralia led the way with Nathan Haufler on the offensive line, Derek VanDorn on the defensive line and Kamble Haverkamp at defensive back. Jackson Heights also had Carson Williams on the offensive line and Cooper Williams at running back, while Valley Heights’ Cole Coggins earned first team honors at running back as well. 

The final first team selections come in 8-man DII, as Axtell’s quarterback-receiver duo of Quinn Buessing and Hunter Koch earned first team honors, while Frankfort’s Carson Schreiner was named to the first team as a return specialist. 

Below is the complete list of remaining all-state selections for 2018.

2018 Honorable Mention All-State Football Selections

Class 4A:
     - Kevin Scott, Atchison, Specialist

Class 3A:
     - Richard Aguirre, Holton, End
     - Colton Mallonee, Perry Lecompton, End
     - Michael Moreno, Hiawatha, End
     - Quinn Neunswander, Jeff West, End
     - Kamden Brownlee, Sabetha, Line
     - Spencer Funk, Perry Lecompton, Line
     - Pene Saili, Jeff West, Line
     - Trasen Snavely, Holton, Line
     - Konner Tannahill, Holton, Line
     - Joseph Gruber, Sabetha, Back 
     - Gabe Garber, Sabetha, Linebacker
     - Scott Urban, Perry Lecompton, Linebacker

Class 2A:
     - Garrison Pope, McLouth, End
     - Clayton Richter, Pleasant Ridge, End
     - Logan Housh, MH-MA, Linebacker
     - Jeremy Carlton, McLouth, Back
     - Jack Caudle, MH-MA, Back
     - Colton Comer, Pleasant Ride, Back
     - Cole Kramer, Nemaha Central, Back
     - Shawn Boos, ACCHS, Linebacker
     - Abe Siebenmorgen, MH-MA, Linebacker
     - Hunter Wagner, Pleasant Ridge, Linebacker
     - Taylor Folsom, MH-MA, Specialist
Class 1A: 
     - Reid Jasper, Troy, End
     - Tyler Heinen, Centralia, End
     - Lane Thomas, Jackson Heights, End
     - Daegan Steinlage, Centralia, End
     - Kyle Budy, JCN, Line
     - Marcus Martinez, Troy, Line
     - Brady Trimble, Valley Heights, Line
     - Tyler Wagner, Valley Heights, Line
     - Taylor Wamego, Jackson Heights, Line
     - Tysen Williams, Troy, Line
     - Cameron Beardsley, Valley Heights, Back
     - Logan Budy, JCN, Back
     - Bray Davies, Troy, Back
     - Isaac Gore, Centralia, Back
     - Kipp Jasper, Troy, Back
     - Kolby Rethman, Jackson Heights, Back
     - Conlon Bruggeman, Jackson Heights, Linebacker
     - Austin Holthaus, Centralia, Linebacker
     - Jeremy Reed, Valley Heights, Linebacker
     - Riley Watkins, Jackson Heights, Linebacker
     - Kenton Talley, Centralia, Specialist
8-man DII:
     - Kolby Talbot, Axtell, Line
     - Joel Hutfles, Wetmore, Back
     - Garrett Dalinghaus, Frankfort, Linebacker


©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group