Wednesday, 22 May 2019
Login |  Register 
***BREAKING NEWS***    4A and 2A State Golf Moved to May 28, 3A State Baseball Moved    ***
Local Sports News
2018 All-Big 7 League Football Selections Announced
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

2018 All-Big 7 League Football - Selections

The 2018 high school football season in the Big 7 league was another competitive one with one team still alive in the quarterfinals of the playoffs. With the conclusion of the league schedule a couple of weeks ago the Big 7 has released their all-league team for 2018 and the league champion Sabetha Bluejays were well-represented.

Sabetha finished the league schedule a perfect 6-0 record and earned 11 guys onto the first team with senior Joe Gruber leading the way earning first team at running back and defensive back. The Bluejays also had seniors Elliot Strahm and Cauy Rokey take home two first team selections, as Strahm was first team offensive and defensive line while Rokey was offensive line and linebacker. Sabetha was rounded out on the first team by senior Mason Engelken at running back and defensive end, senior Braeden Cox at kicker, senior Kamden Brownlee on the defensive line and junior Gabe Garber at inside linebacker.

The Perry Lecompton Kaws finished second in the league with a 3-1 league mark and earned eight guys onto the first team. Senior Dalton Kellum was named to the first team at quarterback, while fellow senior Colton Mallonee earned a spot at receiver. Senior Spencer Funk was named to the offensive line and defensive end, while seniors Collin Rossillon and Scot Urban were named to the first team at defensive line and inside linebacker. The Kaws were rounded out by two defensive backs making it on the first team in senior Blaine Pattin and junior Grant Roush.

The third spot in the league belonged to the Jeff West Tigers who finished with six first team honors. Junior Quinn Neuenswander picked up two first team awards at receiver and punter, while Kauli Saili did the same on the offensive and defensive lines. The Tigers were rounded out by junior Bryce Clements at running back and sophomore Pene Saili on the offensive line.

Holton finished 3-3 in league play and finished with four first team selections in sophomore Konner Tannahill at running back, senior Trasen Snavely on the offensive line, senior Richard Aguirre at tight end and senior Zane Moylan at defensive back.

Nemaha Central had two guys pick up first team honors after going 2-2 in league play, as senior Matt Baumgartner was named first team tight end and defensive end while senior Cole Kramer was named a defensive back.

The final first team spots were occupied by Hiawatha, Royal Valley and Riverside, as the Red Hawks had junior Michael Moreno earn first team at receiver, the Panthers junior Komesh Spoonhunter on the offensive line and Gavin Cumpton at defensive back, and the Cylcones senior Dawson Dick at running back.

For the complete list of selections and honorable mention honorees, click the link at the top of this story.

©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group