Thursday, 15 November 2018
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Twin Valley League Volleyball Honors Handed Out
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

It was another year of highly competitive action on the volleyball court in the Twin Valley League and a highly successful year for several teams with four teams at State with a State champion and third place finisher. 

Leading the performances in the TVL were the Centralia Panthers who finished the year 43-1 and 11-1 in TVL action and claimed the 1A-DI State title for second straight year and 14th State volleyball title in school history. While Valley Heights also finished 11-1 in the TVL and 31-12 overall taking third in Class 2A at State. For the Panthers Katie Glatczak and Madison Lueger earned first team All-TVL honors, while Maegan Koch, Morgan Kramer and Kate Elliot picked up second team honors. For Valley Heights the duo of Kayla Smith and Shea Manley picked up first team All-TVL honors, while Skyler Saunders earned second team. 

Frankfort, Hanover and Washington County all finished 9-3 in TVL play this season posting overall records of 24-14, 30-12 and 24-13, respectively with Hanover qualifying for the 1A-DI State tournament for the second straight year. Frankfort Wildcats, Emilee Ebert and Rebecca Adams each got the first team nod for All-TVL honors, while Kennen Brandt earned second team. For Hanover, Macy Doebele was named first team, while Claire Zarybnicky and Taylor Klipp both picked up second team honors. Washington County was led by Holly Delay and Tess Cecrle who each were named first team All-TVL and Lauren Wyatt earned second team honors. 

Axtell, Linn and Blue Valley all posted 6-6 marks in League play finishing 19-21, 14-23 and 14-20 on the season with Axtell once again making the 1A-DII State tournament. For Axtell Trisha Mathewson picked up first team All-TVL honors, while Chelsea Smith was named second team. Linn had Shelby Ohlde earn first team honors and Brooke Beier get second team. 

Clifton-Clyde finished 5-7 in the TVL and 19-15 overall and had Emily Coffman pick up first team All-TVL honors, while Olivia Nobert snagged second team honors. 

Doniphan West, Troy, Wetmore and Onaga finished out the TVL standings on the year. The only All-TVL coming from those teams was Jill Henry of Wetmore. 

2017 TVL Volleyball All-League

First Team:
Trisha Mathewson (Axtell)
Katie Glatczak (Centralia) 
Madison Lueger (Centralia) 
Emily Coffman (Clifton-Clyde)
Emilee Ebert (Frankfort) 
Rebecca Adams (Frankfort)
Macy Doebele (Hanover) 
Shelby Ohlde (Linn)
Kayla Smith (Valley Heights) 
Shea Manley (Valley Heights)
Holly Delay (Washington County) 
Tess Cecrle (Washington County)

Second Team:
Chelsea Smith (Axtell) 
Kate Elliott (Centralia) 
Maegan Koch (Centralia)
Morgan Kramer (Centralia) 
Olivia Nobert (Clifton-Clyde) 
Kennen Brandt (Frankfort)
Claire Zarybnicky (Hanover)
Taylor Klipp (Hanover) 
Brooke Beier (Linn) 
Skyler Saunders (Valley Heights) 
Lauren Wyatt (Washington County) 
Jill Henry (Wetmore)

©2018 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group