Tuesday, 25 June 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
KSHSAA Releases 2018 & 2019 Football Classifications
By Mike Smith
Copyright: MSC Sports

2018 & 2019 Football Classifications - click here

Something that was already known was the fact that the classification system in high school sports in Kansas is set to change with the 2018-19 school year. The sport of football will have plenty of changes with just one 4A, the edition of 1A and thus plenty of teams on the move from classifications. 

Only one area team will remain Class 4A and that is Atchison as the Redmen will be with 31 other teams to form 4A. 

Class 3A will feature 48 schools including seven schools from the Kanzaland area as Holton and Jeff West both move down to 3A, while Sabetha, Marysville, Hiawatha, Perry Lecompton and Royal Valley all remain in 3A. 

Class 2A will have 48 schools and include eight area schools including Nemaha Central, Riverside, Maur Hill-Mount Academy, Pleasant Ridge, Oskaloosa and ACCHS all making the move down from 3A. Horton and Mclouth will remain in 2A. 

Next year will mark the return of Class 1A in football and it will feature 31 teams featuring five area teams. Valley Heights, Centralia, Jackson Heights, Troy and Jefferson County North will all compete in Class 1A. 

At the 8-Man football level competition will continue to be split into two divisions. In Division I there will be 48 schools with only three from the area as Clifton-Clyde and Valley Falls will remain at that level and Washington County makes the transition to 8-Man. At the Division II level the likes of Axtell, Hanover, Frankfort, Linn, Blue Valley-Randolph and Wetmore will all continue to compete while Onaga moves down from DI and Doniphan West joins the 8-Man ranks. A total of 52 schools will compete at the 8-Man DII level. 

©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group