Wednesday, 13 November 2019
Login |  Register 
Local Sports News
Five Area Athletes, One Coach Earn All-State Baseball Honors
By Jonny Kane
Copyright: MSC Sports

The high school baseball season wrapped up a little over two weeks ago and with that the all-state teams have been released for the 2019 season.

In Class 3A the Sabetha Bluejays garnered the most selections and also had the player of the year as senior Joseph Gruber earned the award after batting .522 with 18 RBI’s, 34 runs scored and 17 walks on the year.

Along with Gruber being named the player of the year, Sabetha head coach Aaron Frey also earned the coach of the year after leading the Bluejays to a second consecutive 3A State Championship.

On the 3A first team Sabetha had Gruber earn a spot at shortstop, Braden Argabright at pitcher and Gabe Garber at an outfield spot.

The Jeff West Tigers also had one player earn 3A first team honors as Grant Thompson earned a spot at pitcher, while Maur Hill-Mount Academy added the final all-state selection with Abe Siebenmorgen garnering a second team pitcher spot.

In Class 2-1A the Oskaloosa Bears were the only area team to have a player earn all-state, as for the second straight year Hunter Reed earned a first team selection at short stop.

©2019 MSC Sports
Hiawatha, KS 66434
EEO Public Report

Powered by Radio Media Group